How Much Have I Prayed For Clinton And Trump?

21 days from today, Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump will be elected the leader of my country. I’ve railed against both of them. I’ve spent more time researching third party candidates than I’d care to admit. I’ve lamented that they are the primary options. I’ve joined in laughter at lampooning some of the campaign’s more absurd moments.

But early this morning, it occurred to me that I hadn’t prayed for them, not either one, not a single time.

During Sunday service at my church, Barack Obama is prayed for by name nearly every week, so I can’t even claim that this is a concept that shouldn’t have occurred to me long before now. Shame on me, and praise God for His grace on me in my neglect.

I invite people of faith to join me in daily prayer for these two individuals for the next 21 days. I’ll commit to posting a brief prayer on this blog every day during that time. You can join me in my posted prayers, pray your own, post to your own social media, whatever. However you choose to do it, I just ask that you #PrayForClintonAndTrump21Days.

Lord, I confess that my cynicism has gotten in the way of obeying your commandments to pray. Please forgive me. Today I commit to pray for Mrs. Clinton and Mr. Trump daily for the next 21 days. Today I pray that they would know You, love You, and follow You. 

“The first thing I want you to do is pray. Pray every way you know how, for everyone you know. Pray especially for rulers and their governments to rule well so we can be quietly about our business of living simply, in humble contemplation. This is the way our Savior God wants us to live. “–I Timothy 2:1-3 (The Message)

–Ben

#PrayForClintonAndTrump21Days

Clinton, Trump pick up big wins

21 thoughts on “How Much Have I Prayed For Clinton And Trump?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

