Day 1 #PrayForClintonAndTrump21Days.

(Today is day 1 of my 21-day commitment to pray for the top two Presidential candidates. Here is the original post of this series.) 

“The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,

because the Lord has anointed me

to proclaim good news to the poor.

He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,

to proclaim freedom for the captives

and release from darkness for the prisoners”–Isaiah 61:1

Lord, today I pray for the pain that Mr. Trump and Mrs. Clinton must feel, for the places where their hearts are broken and need mending.

Mrs. Clinton has known the hurt and rejection of having a wayward husband, that pain having been added to by the very public nature of his straying and the continual reminders of it on the campaign trail. I ask that You speak to her in the broken places, comfort her, and heal her heart.

Mr. Trump has also led a very public life characterized on the surface by pride, greed, and multiple affairs. I don’t know the condition of his heart, but I know enough about human nature to suspect that the public facade he projects is in part designed to mask deep, deep scars and insecurities.  I pray that today he finds someone with whom he can let down his guard. I ask that You speak to him in his broken places, comfort him, and heal his heart.

Finally, Lord, I pray that today both of them would have the opportunity to experience your love, grace, and compassion and know you as Jehovah Rapha–the Lord who heals.

Amen

Clinton, Trump pick up big wins

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

